## Chair Wm. Weston J. Newton

First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Katherine E. (Katie) Arrington Gary E. Clary MaryGail K. Douglas Phyllis J. Henderson Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Mandy Powers Norrell J. Todd Rutherford Tommy M. Stringer

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Bill Taylor

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

## Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

William K. (Bill) Bowers Neal Collins Raye Felder William M. "Bill" Hixon Robert L. Ridgeway III James E. Smith Jr. Edward R. Tallon Sr. Robert Q. Williams

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

March 13, 2017

Dr. Eric Emerson Director, South Carolina Department of Archives and History 8301 Parklane Road Columbia, South Carolina 29223

## Dear Director Emerson:

On behalf of the Education and Cultural Subcommittee, thank you, and Mr. Steven D. Tuttle for your recent presentation to the Subcommittee and same day response to questions that arose during the meeting. We look forward to our next meeting on Tuesday, March 21, 2017, to learn more about the agency's dedication of human and financial resources to its goals. Also, during this meeting we will address how the agency interacts with its governmental partners. Thank you for your service to the citizens of South Carolina and for your continued cooperation with the legislative oversight process.

Sincerely,

James E. Smith, Jr.